C is for Crying Wolf

You know who I’m talking about (and this isn’t particularly aimed at writers). The ones who melodramatically claim that they’ve had enough and are leaving Twitter/Facebook/a forum. You can almost picture them, stretched out on a chaise longue with an eye mask on, pathetically waving people away as they say in a tiny voice..

“I can’t face it anymore. People are cruel. The world is cruel. They all keep deliberately misunderstanding me. I’m too sensitive and possibly slightly above all this. No, don’t try to persuade me to stay, my mind is made up.”

And then, as we all say “Fair enough” and tiptoe out of the room, they lift one side of the mask, realise what’s happening and blurt out in a panic, “No! wait. Go on then, if you insist…” and everything is back to normal.

I understand that people might need a break every so often, I’ve done it myself, in which case you just do exactly that, have a break. No fanfare, no tearful goodbyes, you just don’t go online as much. Or you explain what you’re doing and do it. It’s the people who make such a fuss that annoy me, the ones that test people, only to come back again one day later, looking a bit embarrassed and sheepish.

It’s like the little boy who cried wolf and we all know what happened to him. One day a wolf ate the internet and nobody cared. Or something.

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “C is for Crying Wolf

  1. Brilliant post, made me actually cry with laughter. Yes all that. I’ve obviously *never* done this…..Well ok maybe I did. LOL

  2. Haha one or two have sprung to mind…

  3. Have you done it, B? Not sure I noticed 🙂

  4. Kate Boardman

    I’d just like to point out that I don’t have a chaise longue. 😉

  5. Colin

    Yeah, I know what you mean. If you really think the world will collapse and your blog readers will start on the Valium because you take a few days or a week off, you clearly think way too highly of yourself. 🙂 There are a gazillion blogs out there, and everyone follows more than one. Yes, you might be missed for a little while… but if you act like you’re the center of the universe, your followers might find another galaxy to explore…

    Good post! 🙂

  6. I lifted my mask for a moment, read your blog, and then collapsed back on the chaise. Oh, the ennuie…

  7. I’m loving this blog and the comments,

  8. Gill Fraser Lee

    Brilliant, Tracy, I love it … I’m off to browse chaise longues on Ebay 😉 x

  9. Ha ha! Maybe it would be nice if a wolf at the internet. No, what am I saying. I couldn’t live without it- which is probably what those “wolf criers” realize once they say they’re swearing off social media.

Leave a Reply

